One Thawed, One Frozen

I took advantage of the unseasonably warm tempuratures to amend the soil in my square foot gardens. Well, garden actually. The one 4×4 at the back of my property is in full sun and the soil was moist without being saturated and it was thawed, so I could work in the peat and vermiculite. I got cocky so I dumped the second block of peat in my other SFG and when I went to work it in, encountered soil that was still frozen solid. So in the interest of not having the peat fly away in the wind and trying to thaw the soil, I covered it with a tarp. I might not get a chance to work it again in the next week or so, but at least all I’ll have to do is work in that peat.

The one that I was able to work makes me so happy! The soil is fluffy, yet moist and should be a dream to plant in. I hung the trellis yesterday on the SFG I was able to work in. I’ll put the other one up after it thaws.

As far as seed starting, I was planning on waiting until March 1st to start seeds, but I’m getting impatient, so I might jump the gun and do it by this weekend. And if everything goes well, I’ll be able to pot up and have sturdy seedlings to transplant once the threat of frost has passed.

In the meantime, I’m trying to decide what I’m going to make for critter control. I’m leaning toward a chicken wire cover mounted on 1×1 wood, so I can lift it on and off of my garden, yet it will keep the wild things from eating my seedlings.

2 responses to “One Thawed, One Frozen

  1. potagergardengirl

    your post is getting me giddy to start!

  2. Hi, I’m one of the organizers of Garden Bloggers’ Spring Fling, which is being held in Chicago this year, May 29-31. I hope you can attend. Please check out the official site
    Chicago Gardeners.

Leave a Reply

