Chicken with White Wine Sauce

Part of my motivation for growing vegetables this year is to force encourage myself to cook more often.  I am SO out of practice with cooking and lately if it wasn’t something from a recipe, I’d shy away from making it.  Well last night I was in the creative zone, and I decided to try to cook something on the fly.  I was inspired by the Pollo Arrosto alla Romano from La Sorella Di Francesca here in town.  A few weeks ago I went there for lunch with my parents and was very impressed with the food.  Chicken can tend to be boring and pretty much the same anywhere you go.  Well at La Sorella the chicken was spectacular.  I had never had anything like it.

So yesterday I got some bone-in chicken breasts and went to work.  The following recipe is what I came up with.  Keep in mind that I was doing this on the fly so the amounts are very approximate.  If I can recreate it I will try to get the measurements more accurate.  The dish at La Sorella di Francesca isn’t a flour based sauce or gravy, and I’m not sure there is wine in it, but I was not looking to imitate the dish, just get a little inspiration from it, and I think I did.  While the sauce is nearly thick enough to be considered a gravy, it is more grown up and nuanced than the plain stuff.  I surprised myself with how well this recipe came out and wanted to write it down so I could at least have a place to start when I want to make it again.  This kind of dish is exactly the kind of thing I hope to come up with when I have fresh veggies and herbs from my garden to use.

Ingredients
4 chicken breasts (bone in)
3 tbsp olive oil
2 tbsp butter

White Wine Sauce
1/4 cup olive oil
2 tbsp butter
1/8 cup flour
1 small bell pepper, cut in small strips
2 cloves garlic, minced
1-2 green onions, finely chopped
1 tsp rosemary
1/4 tsp thyme
1 can chicken broth
1/4 cup white wine
Directions
1. Heat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Heat olive oil and butter in large fry pan.  Brown chicken breasts (5 minutes).  Transfer to baking dish and transfer to oven.  Cook for 1 hour, turning every 20 minutes.

3. In small saucepan, saute garlic and onions, do not overcook.

4. Add peppers and saute until tender.  Add rosemary and thyme to moisten and release flavor.  Set aside.

5. Wipe out fry pan and heat olive oil and butter.  Add flour to create a roux.  Lightly brown.

6. Add chicken broth and white wine.  Adjust to taste (either reduce chicken broth, increase white wine, etc.)  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Cook for 5-10 minutes, being careful not to boil.

7. Whisk in reserved sauteed vegetables and herbs.

8. Remove chicken from the oven.  Add drippings to sauce/gravy and whisk.

9. Serve and enjoy.

I supposed you could take the cooked chicken and put it in the fry pan with the sauce, turning to coat, if you so desired.  I was going to, but my daughters are fairly sauce averse, so I decided to spoon it on top.

One response to “Chicken with White Wine Sauce

  1. Hi,

    I first went to La Sorella several years ago and when I tried the Pollo Arrosto Chicken, I loved it.

    I was recently at the south restaurant on rt 59 and decided I’d try to re-create the dish last night. I was doing the same thing as you, only I forgot the broth. Also I used a Shallot instead of green onion, sauteed with the garlic, and white wine. I came close to nailing it, so I think all I need is a little broth now.

    Thanks for putting this online!

Leave a Reply

